Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Typically, projects are created during their first analysis and never deleted (because old software never dies). For atypical situations, there is the page at Administration > Projects > Management, which allows you to manage project existence.

Creation

Provisioning a project allows you to declare and configure it (define permissions, set quality profiles, etc.) before running the first analysis. To be able to provision projects, you have to be logged in and be granted the Provision Projects permission.

To provision a new project, go to Administration > Projects > Management and click on Create ProjectThe only required information is the key and the name of your project.

Once the project is provisioned, you can configure it (define permissions, set quality profiles, etc.), and when you're finished with the configuration, you can simply run the project's first analysis.

You can also provision and configure projects using the Web API.

Private vs Public Projects

By default, any newly created project will be considered "Public". It means every SonarQube user, authenticated or not, will be able to:

  • Browse: Access a project, browse its measures, issues and perform some issue edits (confirm/resolve/reopen, assignment, comment).
  • See Source Code: View the project's source code.

If you want to be sure only a limited list of Groups and Users can see the project, you need to mark it Private. Once a project is private you will be able to define which Groups and Users can Browse the project or See Source Code.

If you want all newly created projects to be considered "Private", you can change the default visibility in Administration > Projects > Management.

Deletion

A project may be deleted individually from the Administration page of the project. See Project Settings for more details. To delete projects in bulk, use Administration > Projects > Management. Here you can select the projects to delete. 

Ghosts

Projects where analysis has been attempted but never succeeded are "Ghosts". Ghosts can be safely deleted from the Ghosts tab.

 

  • No labels